Reconcilable Differences 

This #postelection fallout is very hard to walk through. So many people are on opposite ends of the spectrum in their emotions, opinions and beliefs.  I have a very diverse world so I am close to many different perspectives… even  from my own. I care so much about my family, friends and colleagues and I will not dismiss how they are feeling right now.

The question is:  where do I go and what do I do  with it? How do I process the complexity of this whole situation?

Last night at dinner my husband and I were discussing everything and I posed this question to him:  I have my beliefs and I can explain them to you with complete logic. They make sense to me and I am wholly convinced that what I believe is true. But then you take someone who has different beliefs and they can do the same… They have their own logic and they are convinced that what they believe is completely true as well. So how do you work that out?

His answer was unexpected, simple and quite profound. He said “You don’t.” Followed by “you have to accept that you don’t agree and choose to Love each other anyway.”

Two emotions ran through me when I heard his words. The first was one of relief like:  “Oh good, now I don’t have to keep wrestling with this because it’s exhausting!”   But the second emotion was frustration because I WANT to work this out, and I WANT  to make everything OK again, and I WANT people to be at peace again. But what I WANT…well, it is unattainable right now because people need time to sort through their emotions and hurts.  

As I was thinking about all of this with God this morning, He reminded me of the time shortly after Jesus died and people were fighting amongst each other.  The story is found in 1 Corinthians 1.   Christians were fighting over whose disciples they were. Some said they were followers of Paul, while others said they were followers of Apollos, and still others Peter.  They had lost focus on who they were really following:

“For it is from God alone that you have your life through Christ Jesus. He showed us God’s plan of salvation; he was the one who made us acceptable to God; he made us pure and holy and gave himself to purchase our salvation.” 1 Corinthians 1:30

Oh, if only we could get back to our foundation! God made every one of us unique intentionally and we need to remember that when we start wandering down that path of “Why can’t everyone just think and be like me?”  lf EVERYONE was just like you or me, this world would be a very boring place!  

I will end with this:  We CAN reconcile in spite of our differences!!!

“But, dear brothers, I beg you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ to stop arguing among yourselves. Let there be real harmony so that there won’t be splits in the church. I plead with you to be of one mind, united in thought and purpose.”  1 Corinthians 1:10

Leave a Reply

