The Mirror Isn’t What It Seems

“My son, do not despise the Lord’s discipline and do not resent his rebuke, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.” Prov 3:11-12

Sometimes, when we get before The #Lord, He will show us something within us that needs to change. It can be hard to feel like #God is pointing something negative about us, but the truth is, He is not doing it to make us feel bad or to condemn us. He is holding a mirror to us so that He can do a work inside of us that will ultimately find us closer to Him in relationship.

Yesterday I started my prayer time out with some high energy praise and asked The Lord to speak to me whatever it was He wanted so that I could come out of this prayer time closer to Him. I did not expect that, halfway through, He had highlighted an area of pride in my life that I didn’t realize was so strong! I felt so badly about it because there is nothing more I want than to please Him and this WAS NOT pleasing! I remembered the verse above and it gave me such a peace about the process of repentance. God didn’t point it out because He was mad at me, He did it because He wants to be close to me and that has been a barrier. By the end of my prayer time I felt closer to Him and truly Loved.

That is His desire for all of us every time He highlights something that is not aligned with His Will for us. He wants us to see it for what it is: A loving, heavenly Father who only wants the best for His children and to take every barrier down that exists between us and Him. He corrects us because He #Loves us!!! Keep that in mind the next time you are tempted to feel condemned about whatever He shows you in His mirror!!

Leave a Reply

